The origin of the Amityville Public Library dates back to a private group known as the Amityville Literary Society. The society held meetings at member’s homes but, eventually, they needed a permanent headquarters. In 1907, the society received a New York State library charter and St. Mary’s Church Parish Hall was used as the library headquarters, with 67 circulating books. A few years later the organization built a small wooden building on Broadway, near Ireland Place. In 1926, it was replaced by a charming brick building, which still stands at 166 Broadway.
Former Amityville Public Library, on Broadway, pictured circa 1940. Image courtesy of the Amityville Historical Society.
In 1957 the Free Public Library of Amityville changed its name to Amityville Public Library, and what started as a private association became part of the Amityville School District. The current library was opened in 1972. The library serves the Amityville School District, which includes the Village of Amityville, part of East Massapequa and the western part of the Hamlet of North Amityville.
For further reading: “Amityville’s Library,” by Cecil H. Ruggles, from A Backward Glance (available at the Amityville Historical Society and the Amityville Public Library)
Amityville Public Library, 19 John Street, Amityville, NY 11701 (631) 264-0567