News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/16/2023 12:09:59 PM to 5/16/2023 1:43:45 PM.

News Flash

Town Council Office

Posted on: May 16, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Town Allocates Funding to Help Copiague Fire Department Buy New AED Devices


The Town of Babylon recently allocated funding from the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) to the Copiague Fire Department for the purchase of important equipment to keep the public safe. The ARPA funding allowed the department to obtain three new AED devices to be used in medical emergency situations at Tanner Park.

“Tanner Park is one of the town’s busiest and most utilized parks facilities throughout the ear,” said Councilman Terence McSweeney. “My colleagues and I on the Town Board are proud to continue making investments in public safety, ensuring that our volunteer fire departments have all tools necessary to provide quick and effective care in the event of an emergency.”  
 The Board of Fire Commissioners of the Copiague Fire District instituted a program a number of years ago to site AEDs at Tanner Park to be utilized for medical emergencies.  As part of this program certified personnel from the Copiague Fire Department provided first aid training to Copiague Youth League coaches. The AEDs utilized at Tanner Park were nearing the end of their useful life and the Fire District replaced them with newer, more user-friendly equipment.  

“In light of the tragedy in Nassau County involving a youth league participant the updating of this equipment is a necessary project to protect the young athletes who utilize this Town facility, said Billy Crothers, Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners. “The Fire District would like to thank the Town for its financial assistance to facilitate the purchase of the AED equipment.”

Photo (Left to Right): Deputy Supervisor Tony Martinez; Councilman Terence McSweeney; Councilman DuWayne Gregory; Mike Greb, Treasurer, Copiague Fire District; Supervisor Rich Schaffer; Ken Urban, Vice President, Copiague Fire District; Kyle Miller, Chief of Department, Copiague Fire Department; Mickey Kane, President, Copiague Fire District; William Crothers Jr., Chair of Board of Commissioners; Richard Sica, Copiague Fire Commissioner and Peter Syevich, Copiague Fire Commissioner.

Facebook Twitter Email